Annual Meetings

General Information

The Annual Meeting of The Society of Rheology is held in mid-October. The meetings ordinarily last three to four days and are open to both members and non-members. Every effort is made to stimulate and encourage fruitful discussion during the technical sessions, with 25 minutes normally allotted to the presentation and discussion of each paper. There are normally no more than six simultaneous sessions, and the program includes plenary lectures, special symposia, informal evening discussions, and instrument exhibits. A banquet is held to honor the recipients of the Society's awards: the Bingham Medal, the Arthur B. Metzner Early Career Award, the Journal of Rheology Publication Award, and the Distinguished Service Award, all for outstanding contributions to rheology. Elected SoR Fellows of the year are also recognized at the banquet. The Annual Meeting for those years during which an International Congress on Rheology occurs (2016, 2020, 2023, 2027 etc.) is held early in the following year (except when the ICR is held in the United States).

Future Annual Meetings

ICR 2020 Image
XVIIIth International Congress on Rheology
December 13-18, 2020
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Austin 2021 Image
92nd Annual Meeting
February 21-25, 2021
Austin, Texas

Local Chair: Roger Bonnecaze
Program Chairs: Jacinta Conrad, Patrick Underhill

Bangor 2021 Image
93rd Annual Meeting
October 10-14, 2021
Bangor, Maine

Local Chair: Albert Co
Program Chairs: TBA