Amy Q. Shen

Amy Q. Shen

Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology

Mechanical Engineer
Fellow, Elected 2022

Amy Shen is a professor at Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University (OIST) in Japan, where she has led the Micro/Bio/Nanofluidics Unit since 2014. She was a faculty member in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University ofWashington (USA) prior to moving to Japan, and she obtained her Ph.D. in Theoretical and Applied Mechanics from University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign in 2000. Amy’s research is focused on rheology and non-Newtonian fluid mechanics at the nano-biointerfaces, coupled with microfluidics. Her research usually combines experiments, theory, and modeling to explore the dynamics and properties of flows involving nano- or micro-structures such as wormlike micellar solutions, polymer solutions, ionic liquids, colloidal suspensions, and biofluids. In recent years, her research group has reported new understandings of bifurcations and instabilities in flows of complex fluids at small length scales. These results have been achieved with the aid of novel 3D printing, microfabrication and imaging techniques. Her research group has also developed opto-microfluidic and other lab-on-a-chip platforms for disease diagnostic applications. In recognition of her research contributions, Amy is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (Division of Fluid Dynamics) and the Royal Society of Chemistry. She has won numerous awards, including the NSF CAREER Award and the Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award, and was a Fulbright Scholar in 2013. Amy has also been actively involved in mentoring, outreach and the promotion of diversity throughout her academic career. She received the Excellence in Mentoring Award from OISTin 2020.

Amy is an associate editor for Soft Matter and Micromachines and serves on the editorial board for the Journal of Rheology, ACS Sensors, Physics of Fluids, VIEW, and Biomicrofluidics. In addition to her scholarly contributions to the field of rheology, she has been actively involved with the international rheological community through out her career. She serves on The Society of Rheology Metzner Award Committee (2020-2022), the International Advisory Board for ICR2023, and Technical Committee for the 8th Pacific Rim Conference on Rheology in 2022. She also served as a Member-at-Large of the Executive Committee of The Society of Rheology (2018-2019) and as a Delegate of the Individual Members of the European Society of Rheology Committee (2018-2020). Amy also served on the Journal Publication Award Committee of The Society of Rheology (2018-2019). She co-organized a short course on microfluidics and rheology at AERC in 2018 and served as technical program co-chair for the 86th SoR meeting in 2014. She also served as the session co-chair for the SoR (2009, 2011, and 2022) and AERC (2018 and 2019) meetings. Amy was also the symposium organizer for the 5th Pacific Rim Conference on Rheology (PRCR2010) and XVII-th International Congress on Rheology (ICR2016).

Based on the documents submitted by Gareth H. McKinley.